Skip to main content

WhatsApp backtracks on forcing privacy policy, will still bug you about it

WhatsApp will keep sending you reminders to accept new policy.

What you need to know

  • WhatsApp won't delete or deactivate your account on May 15.
  • If will keep sending you reminders to accept the new privacy policy.
  • Some functionalities might be limited.

WhatsApp will not be deactivating or deleting accounts on May 15, despite saying it would do so earlier this year if you didn't accept its new privacy policy.

A spokesperson said in an email to Android Central that the company will keep sending reminders to users in the weeks to come about accepting the policy. Users who have not accepted the policy will also have "limited account functionality."

Those limited functionalities include not being able to access your chat list (but you will still be able to answer incoming phone and video calls). If you have notifications enabled, you will be able to tap on them to read or respond to a message or call back a missed phone or video call.

WhatsApp said that after "a few weeks of limited functionality," you won't be able to receive incoming calls or notifications and the service will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.

"We've spent the last several months providing more information about our update to users around the world. In that time, the majority of people who have received it have accepted the update and Whatsapp continues to grow," the spokesperson said.

"However, for those that have not yet had a chance to do so, their accounts will not be deleted or lose functionality on May 15. We'll continue to provide reminders to those Users within Whatsapp in the weeks to come."

The Facebook-owned company caused a stir in late January when users got a pop-up notification asking them to opt-in the new updated privacy policy. After major backlash from users, the chat app, which is considered to be one of the best Android messaging apps, pushed the rollout from February 8 to May 15.

At the time the company said that it would delete and deactivate accounts temporarily if users did not accept the terms and policy. In order to be able to keep using the service, users had to accept the policy.

The new changes now mean that users will have to share their data with Facebook including account registration information (such as your phone number), transaction data, service-related information, and information on how you interact with others (including businesses) when using the service, WhatsApp said.



Source: androidcentral

Popular posts from this blog

Genshin Impact: When does Update 2.0 release in my region?

Best answer: Server maintenance for Genshin Impact Update 2.0 will begin at 6 a.m. China Standard Time on July 21 (6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT on July 20). Maintenance is expected to last around five hours and will occur simultaneously for everyone. Does Genshin Impact server maintenance vary by region? Regardless of what time the server maintenance occurs, it will happen simultaneously for everyone. Server maintenance generally lasts around 5 or 6 hours, but given that Update 2.0 is the biggest one yet, it could potentially take even longer. Update 2.0 will release worldwide on July 20 or 21 depending on your time zone. What does Genshin Impact Update 2.0 include? There's a whole lot of content coming with Genshin Impact Update 2.0 . One of the biggest additions is the Inazuma region, which will be the first major region to be added to the game since its launch. It consists of six major islands with ports, mountains, shrines, villages, and more. With Inazuma also comes a new A

Unmaze for Android is a stunning adventure through a sinister labyrinth

In a world of light and shadow, guide your loved ones through the maze before monstrosity overtakes them. Your little brother and your boyfriend have been missing for two days. Search parties and authorities aren't turning up any leads, and there's been a string of unsolved missing person cases in your town recently. Looking for answers, you find a strange blue crystal and some ominous notes about a lost civilization in your brother's room. And when you look into the crystal, you can see and hear your boyfriend?! This fascinating horror mystery setup is how Unmaze kicks off, and the plot only thickens from there. You play as Ariadne, a young woman trying to help recover her boyfriend, Theseus, and her younger brother, Asterion, from a mystical maze that she can only see through the crystal she found in Asterion's room. This phenomenal, weird title is definitely going in with the best Android games . Mechanically speaking, the gameplay in Unmaze is very simple,

There are many ways to copy and paste things from your Chromebook

It should come as no surprise that as time has passed everyone by, the best Chromebooks have progressed and become true productivity machines. And while there are a lot of awesome Chromebook tips and tricks that you won't find elsewhere, you'll likely want to know how to do some of the more basic tasks. One such task performed a plethora of times per day is simply copying and pasting text or other items from one place to another. So here's how you can copy and paste on a Chromebook. How to copy and paste with the touchscreen Locate the text that you wish to copy and paste. Double-tap the screen on the text that you wish to copy. Drag the highlight handles to highlight all of the text you want to copy. From the pop-up menu, tap Copy . Navigate to the area where you wish to paste the text. Tap and hold in the space where you wish to paste. Tap Paste from the menu that appears. Using the touchscreen on your Chromebook can be a bit finicky from time

How to watch Big Brother 2021: Stream season 23 online live from anywhere

Big Brother returns for its 23rd season this week with a new cast of hopeful competitors all vying for a $500,000 cash prize. Amidst twists, turns, betrayals, and backdoors, the sixteen new houseguests are in for a wild summer that promises to be one to remember. Season 23 of Big Brother will feature a BB Beach Club theme and kicks off with a 90-minute premiere episode where, for the first time ever, the houseguests will be given a double-or-nothing offer that might be too good to pass up. And of course, the Big Brother Live Feeds are returning this year as well. Paramount+ subscribers will have 24/7 access to several cameras in the house so those interested can keep up with what's going on inside even when the show's not airing. CBS All Access was transformed into Paramount+ earlier this year, so all the Big Brother content that was available there including the live feeds and the CBS All Access original show Big Brother: Over The Top is available on Paramount+. B