Skip to main content

How to turn on Telegram's version of Apple's Find my Friends

Messaging apps are a fantastic way to stay in touch with friends and family, and many of the best messaging apps on Android are loaded with all kinds of fun and useful features. One such feature available on Telegram is Live Location, which lets you share your locations with friends and contacts and see their locations in return if they've also elected to share them with you. If you are at all familiar with Snapchat's Snap Map or Apple's Find my Friends, then you know what this looks like. We'll show you how to use Live Location on Telegram, what limits you can place on it, and why you may want to be selective about who you share your location information with.

How to use Telegram's Live Location feature

One differentiator of Telegrams Live Location from other similar services is that it's not on a dedicated map tab or button in the app. Rather, you have to share your location within a chat thread. Like some of those other services, you can place limits on just how long you share your location, from 15 minutes up to eight hours. Here's how.

  1. Open up the Telegram app and click on a chat thread.
  2. From the message composer, tap on the attachment icon (paperclip).
  3. Tap on Location on the bottom row of icons.

  4. Tap Send my Current Location to share where you are at the moment.
  5. Tap Share my Live Location for... to share where you're going to be for the next period of time.
  6. Read through the system notification disclaimer and tap OK.

  7. Read through the location permission, and allow Telegram access to your location.
  8. Choose how long you wish to share your Live Location for — either 15 minutes, 1 hour, or 8 hours.
  9. Tap Share.

If friends share their Live Location with you, you can now set up notifications to have the app alert you when they are within a certain radius (up to half a kilometer or more). You simply tap on their Live Location tile in the chat and tap on the notification bell to select at what distance you wish to be notified of their presence. You'll then see them on the map, along with the direction in which they're headed.

How to revoke Live Location access

If you share your location in a group, it is visible to all in the group. Conversely, you will be able to see everyone else in the group's current locations as well. There is a persistent notification bar at the top of the chat screen that lets you know with whom you're sharing your location so that you don't forget. Here's how to revoke location sharing.

  1. Tap the X to the right of the Live Location notification from within the chat.
  2. Tap STOP.

Why you may not want to do this

Even if you don't manually turn off Live Location sharing, it will time out based on which option you selected (no longer than 8 hours). However, you may want to be judicious about how often and with whom you share your location information.

Security research Ahmed recently noted that Telegram's People Nearby feature (separate from the Live Location feature) could leak your precise location to strangers, with whom you certainly never intended to share that information. The process is a bit complicated though certainly possible, so while it's not necessarily an imminent threat, it's something you should be aware of. Personally, I never turn that feature on, but that's just me. You'll have to make your own choices when it comes to your location-sharing preferences.

Privacy and security are important features to look for in a messaging app, so before you start sharing your location and personal information, it would behoove you to take a look at Telegram vs. Signal vs. WhatsApp and other options to see which is the best fit for your needs.

If you do decide to use these features on Telegram, you may also want to learn how to turn Telegram's last seen online timestamp on/off, and how to activate two-factor authentication in the app.

Now that you know a little more about how to stay safe on Telegram, we wish you happy messaging!



Source: androidcentral

Popular posts from this blog

Genshin Impact: When does Update 2.0 release in my region?

Best answer: Server maintenance for Genshin Impact Update 2.0 will begin at 6 a.m. China Standard Time on July 21 (6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT on July 20). Maintenance is expected to last around five hours and will occur simultaneously for everyone. Does Genshin Impact server maintenance vary by region? Regardless of what time the server maintenance occurs, it will happen simultaneously for everyone. Server maintenance generally lasts around 5 or 6 hours, but given that Update 2.0 is the biggest one yet, it could potentially take even longer. Update 2.0 will release worldwide on July 20 or 21 depending on your time zone. What does Genshin Impact Update 2.0 include? There's a whole lot of content coming with Genshin Impact Update 2.0 . One of the biggest additions is the Inazuma region, which will be the first major region to be added to the game since its launch. It consists of six major islands with ports, mountains, shrines, villages, and more. With Inazuma also comes a new A

Unmaze for Android is a stunning adventure through a sinister labyrinth

In a world of light and shadow, guide your loved ones through the maze before monstrosity overtakes them. Your little brother and your boyfriend have been missing for two days. Search parties and authorities aren't turning up any leads, and there's been a string of unsolved missing person cases in your town recently. Looking for answers, you find a strange blue crystal and some ominous notes about a lost civilization in your brother's room. And when you look into the crystal, you can see and hear your boyfriend?! This fascinating horror mystery setup is how Unmaze kicks off, and the plot only thickens from there. You play as Ariadne, a young woman trying to help recover her boyfriend, Theseus, and her younger brother, Asterion, from a mystical maze that she can only see through the crystal she found in Asterion's room. This phenomenal, weird title is definitely going in with the best Android games . Mechanically speaking, the gameplay in Unmaze is very simple,

There are many ways to copy and paste things from your Chromebook

It should come as no surprise that as time has passed everyone by, the best Chromebooks have progressed and become true productivity machines. And while there are a lot of awesome Chromebook tips and tricks that you won't find elsewhere, you'll likely want to know how to do some of the more basic tasks. One such task performed a plethora of times per day is simply copying and pasting text or other items from one place to another. So here's how you can copy and paste on a Chromebook. How to copy and paste with the touchscreen Locate the text that you wish to copy and paste. Double-tap the screen on the text that you wish to copy. Drag the highlight handles to highlight all of the text you want to copy. From the pop-up menu, tap Copy . Navigate to the area where you wish to paste the text. Tap and hold in the space where you wish to paste. Tap Paste from the menu that appears. Using the touchscreen on your Chromebook can be a bit finicky from time

How to watch Big Brother 2021: Stream season 23 online live from anywhere

Big Brother returns for its 23rd season this week with a new cast of hopeful competitors all vying for a $500,000 cash prize. Amidst twists, turns, betrayals, and backdoors, the sixteen new houseguests are in for a wild summer that promises to be one to remember. Season 23 of Big Brother will feature a BB Beach Club theme and kicks off with a 90-minute premiere episode where, for the first time ever, the houseguests will be given a double-or-nothing offer that might be too good to pass up. And of course, the Big Brother Live Feeds are returning this year as well. Paramount+ subscribers will have 24/7 access to several cameras in the house so those interested can keep up with what's going on inside even when the show's not airing. CBS All Access was transformed into Paramount+ earlier this year, so all the Big Brother content that was available there including the live feeds and the CBS All Access original show Big Brother: Over The Top is available on Paramount+. B